2016 Songwriting Contest

We are pleased to announce the winners of the 2016 Woody Guthrie Folk Festival Songwriting Contest. The first, second, and third place winners will perform at the festival as noted. Congratulations to all!

1st place:
"The American Dream"
Jared Deck (co-written by Wes Sharon), Weatherford, Oklahoma
Jared will perform Saturday at 7:30pm at the Pastures of Plenty.

2nd place:
Mike Laureanno (co-written by Michael Troy), Providence, Rhode Island
Mike will perform Friday at 7:30pm at the Pastures of Plenty.

3rd place:
Allan Chapman, Decatur, Texas.
Allan will perform Thursday at 7:30pm at the Pastures of Plenty.

Honorable Mention (in no particular order):
"Marie" - Noah Rauchwerk, Brooklyn, New York
"The Colors of Travelin' Songs" - Mike Oberst, Cincinnati, Ohio
"Ode to Oklahoma" Bobbi Castor, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
"The More Things Change" - Amy Coffman, Amarillo, Texas
"Tulsa Take Me Back" - Andrea Turner, Jenks, Oklahoma
"U.S. Government Drone" - Eric Neill, Lindsay, Oklahoma
"Niagara Street" - Noah and Dan Rauchwerk, Brooklyn, New York
"Wrong Side of the Night" - Jared Deck, Weatherford, Oklahoma
"Mother Earth" - Rob McHale, Statesville, North Carolina
"King of My World" - Steve Brooks, Austin, Texas
"Falling Man" - Randy Brown, Mineola, Texas
"Daily Wages" - Robert Ray, Pontotoc, Mississippi
"For Ambrose Bierce" - Andrew Cullen, Norman, Oklahoma
"Together We Cannot Be Ignored" - Sarah Geis and Timothy Scott, Charlotte, North Carolina